There’s Someone Inside Your House

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers (September 26, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525426019

It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.

Then, one by one, the students of her small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets.


My review:

This was a very different type of thriller than I’m use to. More campy teen slasher movie from the 90s type.

Makani has moved to Nebraska from Hawaii because of something that happened there. She now lives with her grandmother and is starting her senior year in high school. Nothing should happen in this small town and Makani can start over…or so she thought. Soon a serial killer is on the loose and the mayhem begins.

I thought it was a good mystery and fast pace. I love thrillers so I was intrigued by this book. The killer is revealed earlier than expected so I was a bit surprised, especially since the killer was barely heard of. And why the killer was killing was a disappointment. The characters that died unfortunately didn’t resonate with me. I felt nothing for them. Just a simple bloody death.

The suspense was dark and gritty but what I truly liked was Makani and Ollie’s relationship. There was definitely chemistry between them. It made a lighter tone to a dark plot. Maybe that’s because Perkins normally rights contemporary romance. So, it seemed like a romance book with occasional killings. This was Stephanie Perkin’s first thriller and it wasn’t bad!

Should you read it? Yes, but it’s a different type of thriller with more romance than slashing. It may not have connected with me but it could with you.

starstarstar

I’m giving away my ARC of There’s Someone Inside Your House! To win comment below on your favorite slasher movie and why it scares you! 🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪

One thought on “There’s Someone Inside Your House

  1. My favorite slasher movie is The Strangers (which reminds me, I need to watch it again in October!). I loved it because not only was it a slasher movie, but it had the whole psychological thriller aspect with the weird masked people stalking the house and messing with the people inside. Even thinking about it now is giving me the creeps!

    Thanks so much for the chance!

Leave a Reply

