Blog Tour: No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

I'm so excited to be part of the blog tour for NO GOOD DEED By Kara Connolly. This book was a fun read and I just couldn't put it down.

Girl power rules supreme when a modern girl finds herself in the middle of a medieval mess in…

“This cheeky take on the Robin Hood legend is pure fun. Connolly’s swashbuckling debut will satisfy any adventure fans.” –Booklist

“This fresh take on the Robin Hood mythology…is well worth it.” —Publishers Weekly

Debut author Kara Connollyreimagines the legend of Robin Hood in NO GOOD DEED (Delacorte Press / On sale July 18, 2017 / Ages 14 and up). Perfect for fans of Dorothy Must Die, a modern girl finds herself in the middle of a medieval mess with only her smart mouth and her Olympic archer aim to get her home.


Let's take a look at the book!

 

NO GOOD DEED by Kara Connolly

Delacorte Press | On sale July 18, 2017 | Ages 14 and up

Hardcover: 978-0-385-74393-8 | $17.99 | 352 pages

Ebook: 978-0-385-37323-4 | $10.99

Ellie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.

Sherwood Forest is filled with bandits, the king is away at war, and the local sheriff is determined to lock Ellie up. It’s a story as old as the ages–and Ellie knows it well, but the details are a little different from the cartoon. It’s not until a handsome knight lends her a bow and a quiver of arrows that Ellie might have a fighting chance of surviving.

Finding her way home—that’s another story, entirely.

NO GOOD DEED is an action packed adventure filled with time travel, high stakes—and a dash of romance.


Review: I like retellings especially when it comes to some of my favorite stories like Robin Hood. I also like books on time travel like Outlander. But what I love the most is gender bending twists on retellings!

This book has all of those and much more.

Ellie is awesome at archery Olympic hopeful but when she becomes lost in the caverns of Nottingham and ends up in medieval England the fun begins! As with anything in time travel, adapting to this new world  doesn't go well. She makes an enemy with the Sheriff, which is familiar, because Ellie seems to be reenacting Robin Hood even if she doesn't mean to.

Ellie was a strong character and I loved following her through medieval England. All her mishaps and good intentions made the pace flow. The description was great immersing the reader into the medieval times. I especially liked that Connolly made it known Ellie and the people of medieval England had a hard time understanding each other. I also loved that the book focused on Ellie and her Robin Hood escapades. No romance overshadowed the story. It was refreshing.

Should you read it? Yes! A great twist to the Robin Hood story with action and wit!

starstarstarstar


 

 

 

 

 

KARA CONNOLLY loves history, though she's never time traveled. She lives and writes in Arlington, Texas. To learn more about Kara and her books go to her blog or follow on Twitter and on Instagram.

###

NO GOOD DEED by Kara Connolly

Delacorte Press | On sale July 18, 2017 | Ages 14 and up

Hardcover: 978-0-385-74393-8 | $17.99 | 352 pages

Ebook: 978-0-385-37323-4 | $10.99

Delacorte Press is an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, the world’s largest English-language children’s trade book publisher. Random House Children’s Books is a division of Penguin Random House, LLC, a Penguin Random House Company.

Visit us online @RandomHouseKids | facebook.com/randomhousekids |Instgram @RandomHouseKids | RandomHouseKids.com

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Follow the tour!

17-Jul Joyousreads http://www.joyousreads.net
17-Jul Cafinated Reads http://cafinatedreads.com 
18-Jul Istyria book blog http://istyriabookblog.com
18-Jul My Guilty Obsession http://myguiltyobsession.blogspot.com/
19-Jul Stories & Sweeties http://storiesandsweeties.com
19-Jul The Book Monsters http://thebookmonsters.com/
19-Jul Urban Fantasy Investigations http://urbanfantasyinvestigations.blogspot.com/
20-Jul Seeing Double In Neverland SeeingDoubleinNeverland
20-Jul Love is not a triangle http://www.loveisnotatriangle.com
20-Jul A Backwards Story http://abackwardsstory.blogspot.com
21-Jul Take Me Away… http://takemeaway02.blogspot.com/
21-Jul Feed Your Fiction Addiction http://feedyourfictionaddiction.com
24-Jul Beauty and the Bookshelf http://beautyandthebookshelf.com
24-Jul Mom With a Reading Problem http://www.momwithareadingproblem.com
25-Jul Teen Lit Rocks www.teenlitrocks.com
25-Jul Peace Love Books http://readingwithstyle.blogspot.com
26-Jul Bumbles and Fairy-Tales http://bumblesandfairytales.blogspot.com
26-Jul The Hollow Cupboards thehollowcupboards.blogspot.com
27-Jul Adventures of a Book Junkie http://toofondofbooks.com
27-Jul A Midsummer Night’s Read http://www.amidsummernightsread.com 
28-Jul Gone Pecan https://gonepecanla.wordpress.com
28-Jul Mommy Ramblings http://www.mommyramblings.org
31-Jul By Valia Lind http://valialind.wordpress.com
31-Jul Pandora’s Books www.pandorasbooks.org
1-Aug Cracking the Cover http://www.crackingthecover.com 
1-Aug Jessabella Reads www.jessabellareads.org
2-Aug A DREAM WITHIN A DREAM HTTP://ADREAMWITHINDREAM.BLOGSPOT.COM
2-Aug Bookish Lifestyle www.evie-bookish.blogspot.com
3-Aug Twinning for Books https://twinningfortwins.wordpress.com
3-Aug Ms. Yingling Reads http://msyinglingreads.blogspot.com
4-Aug Lisa Loves Literature http://misclisa.blogspot.com/
4-Aug She Dreams in Fiction http://www.shedreamsinfiction.com/
4-Aug Zach’s YA Reviews www.zachsyareviews.com
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s