Spotlight Friday: Interview with J.C. Welker, author of The Wishing Heart

Today I interview author J.C. Welker about her new book The Wishing Heart!

Let’s take a look at The Wishing Heart.

  • File Size: 1460 KB
  • Print Length: 370 pages
  • Publisher: Entangled: Teen (May 1, 2017)
  • Amazon, B&Nibooks 

With a book in her bag and a switchblade in her pocket, Rebel’s been thieving her way through life while hoping for a cure to fix her ailing heart.

But when the bejeweled vase she just tried to hawk turns out to be a jinni’s vessel, Rebel gets lost to her world and dragged within another. Now every magical being in the city wants the vase for himself.

Thrust into a game of cat and mouse in a world she never knew existed, Rebel must use her uncanny skills to find a way to free Anjeline the Wishmaker.

But wishes have consequences. And contracts. Anjeline’s freedom could unravel a love like Rebel has never known, or it could come at the cost of Rebel’s heart.


To the interview!

How did you come up with The Wishing Heart? 

This story is extremely personal to me so seeing it finally come alive is overwhelming and scary at the same time. The premise came about quite clearly, of a girl looking for love and healing through stories and magic, and finds herself immersed in a world she never knew existed. In many ways it’s a reflection and metaphor of my own experiences growing up, at a time where I felt invisible, hiding who I was, and like the main character I looked to stories to fill that hole.

 

Your cover is wonderful! Did you have any input for it?

Thank you. Entangled is wonderful in allowing authors to have feedback with what they prefer and not prefer. The artist did a beautiful job in taking my description of the book’s premise and working it into the cover, using the light and dark contrast to allude to the theme of magic in the story and the consequences of it. It reflects our inner battles. That one can either let the world’s darkness swallow them, or they can feed the light.

 

What is the one thing you want readers to get from your book?

My greatest desire is that it will reach the hearts who need it. Stories can be healing. They are for me, including writing this one and if I had a book like this when I was younger it might have made life more bearable, reassuring me that I mattered. And I hope it does the same for others.

 

What’s your schedule like since the book released? Are you touring for the signings?

It’s a hot mess. Though I’m not physically touring I will be doing a virtual blog tour, so I’ve been busy getting everything in line with that and the book launch party.

 

What book or books are you obsessing over right now?

Misa Sugiura’s book IT’S NOT LIKE IT’S A SECRET. I’ve been dying to get my hands on it. It can’t come fast enough.

 

What is the one thing you must do while always writing? I have to have coffee!

Music. I need it to write. And absolutely no distractions or else I will rewrite a sentence twenty times.

 

What’s next for you?!

I’ve been toying with a MG fantasy idea, and hopefully will begin putting words to it soon.

Thank you J.C. for visiting today and congrats on the release!


 

About the author:

Bio: J.C. Welker is a YA author who’s been, among other things, a fashion designer, a filmmaker and a kickboxer (seriously). Her short documentaries, some of which focused on LGBTQ+ issues in the military have been featured on CURRENT TV, and her novel has placed first in the paranormal category of the 2016 YARWA Rosemary Awards. She continues to work towards giving a voice to stories that are needed, while facing magic and monsters along the way.

 Follow J.C. Welker

One thought on “Spotlight Friday: Interview with J.C. Welker, author of The Wishing Heart

Leave a Reply

