Writer’s Atelier: My Sanctuary in Florida.

So it seemed like I just moved to Florida.

What a great adventure I had here. Now I’m not saying that it was all hunky dory. I couldn’t stand the humidity and in reality I just couldn’t get settled here. It didn’t feel like home. But what made it bearable were the friends I made and the one place that was a sanctuary for writing… the writing center Writer’s Atelier.

Racquel is the owner of this writing center and since I moved here she has helped me connect with other writers, write almost 4 manuscripts (editing them is my kryptonite), kept me connected with book events and had tons and tons of write-ins! Because writing isn’t easy.

When you have a cheerleader in your corner you get this energy that envelops you and yes maybe you fell like maybe you can do it! You are going to write. Racquel has been a great cheerleader even when I don’t want to edit and I want to move onto a sparkling new idea. Most the time I gave in to that idea.

Shout out to Tara who is my other cheerleader and constantly on me to write too. Does writing a blog count? 😉

If you are in Florida or ever find yourself moving here I highly recommend connecting with Racquel and the wonderful writers that come to Writer’s Atelier. She has write-ins once a month that are potluck!! Fooooooood! She does NanoWrimo every November and writing retreats!! She let’s everyone know about author events and book events and even has writing classes at the center. Oh and there is writing yoga! WRITING YOGA! This girl is on it!

Here are some upcoming events for Writer’s Atelier!

UPCOMING EVENTS

  • Over the Noise, Under the Neon: Writing Your Best Poetry with Heather Lang & Letisia CruzApril 3, 2017 at 10:00 am – April 30, 2017 at 10:00 pm
  • Yoga + Writing with Ashley Inguanta April 8, 2017 at 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
  • Foreshadowing with Valerie Willis April 23, 2017 at 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
  • Intro to Flash Fiction with J. Bradley June 11, 2017 at 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

So if you are a writer or a newbie in the writing world (welcome!) I highly recommend looking in your area to see if there are writing centers or writers who get together to write. Connect with them! The meet ups and connection help so much with writing. You are not alone! I just hope Seattle offers something comparable to Racquel and Writer’s Atelier…though she is irreplaceable.

Love Tawney

Leave a Reply

