When Planets Fall Blog Tour: Interview and Giveaway

Today we are excited to be part of the When Planets Fall blog tour with an interview of the author Abby J Reed and a giveaway!


  • WHEN PLANETS FALL, Blog Tour Digital Assets
  • Title: WHEN PLANETS FALL (Stars Fall Circle #1)
  • Author: Abby J. Reed
  • Pub. Date: April 12, 2017
  • Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
  • Pages: 420
  • Formats: Paperback, eBook
  • Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads
  • On a planet where the only difference between three tribes is their blood color, war is on the horizon. Breaker, an amputee, wants peace for his family and home. Malani, a kidnapped POW, wants to return home. Luka wants justice for his home. All three teens come together when Breaker is given seven days to fix a wrecked enemy starship or their home, and peace, is forfeit..”In this richly imagined start to a new sci-fi series, Reed brings optimism to the goal of solving entrenched violence in a galaxy far, far away . . . A propulsive, sharply crafted tale about a planetary war.” –Kirkus Reviews

Interview with Abby J Reed

1. How did you come up with When Planets Fall?

It came from a short story I wrote in college! I didn’t get a very good grade on it (none of my stories got very good grades and I almost always got the worst critiques). However, at the end my prof wrote “Keep working on this. There’s more here.” I think she meant you’re missing the deeper story and not blow it up into a novel! But hey! Whatever works, right?

2. If you could choose a planet in our solar system to live on what would it be and why?

Saturn. Hands down. I really like the swoop of the rings. How amazing would it be to wake up and see planetary rings in your sky?? I mean, rings are basically floating chunks of ice and rock just hanging there, but they are so beautiful. And they are in your sky!!

3. What do you like to do when not writing?

Painting! I discovered after college I had a knack for it. I started with watercolor, then moved to acrylic. I do mostly mixed media now. But I love how it’s unpredictable (especially watercolor) and the vibrant colors and how it taps into my subconscious. Plus, I can finish a painting in a day. Really nice when a book can take two years to finish. My studio is easily my happy place.

My dogs would also say—snuggling and spending time with us. But I don’t want to admit how much I am a pushover when it comes to my puppies.

4. What is your writing process like?

Kind of sporadic. I’m not one of those authors who does a little bit of work everyday. Since I have Chronic Migraine, I never know how I’m going to be feeling. One week I might do a little each day. Other weeks I can’t do anything at all. I guess you could call me a binge writer? And I don’t have a specific time of day I work either. I work whenever I feel good enough. Sometimes this means 8am. Sometimes this means 8pm. Sometimes this means holidays or weekends. I never know.

5. Tell us something surprising about yourself?

I lived overseas for a couple years while I was a little. My parents taught English in Inner Mongolia. I remember going to school and learning Chinese characters and making the strokes over and over and over. When I took Spanish in high school, I still knew some Mandarin, so I kept mixing up the languages whenever I spoke. I’d speak in half Chinese/half Spanish. Eventually I learned enough Spanish to push out all the Mandarin. Now, I can barely remember any Spanish. Makes me sad because they are both really cool languages.


About Abby: 

Abby J. Reed writes young adult science fiction and fantasy novels that ask what if. She has a degree in English Writing and is drawn to characters with physical limitations due to her own neurological disorder called Chronic Migraine. Her debut novel, WHEN PLANETS FALL, will be published in April 2017 by Soul Mate Publishing.

Abby lives in Colorado with her husband and two fluffy pups. If her hands aren’t on the keyboard, they are stained purple and blue with paint.

Website | Facebook | Twitter |Pinterest | Instagram | Tumblr | Goodread


 

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a signed paperback of WHEN PLANETS FALL, & Swag, US Only.

Enter Here!

 

Follow the tour!

Week One:

4/3/2017- Twinning for Books- Interview

4/3/2017- Everything Marie- Review

4/4/2017- Jennifer Mary G.- Guest Post

4/4/2017- What the Cat Read- Review

4/5/2017- The Not So Public Library- Excerpt

4/5/2017- YA and Wine- Review

4/6/2017- The Autumn Bookshelf- Interview

4/6/2017- A Trail of Books Left Behind- Review

4/7/2017- Smada’s Book Smack- Guest Post

4/7/2017- Kayl’s Krazy Obsession- Review

Week Two:

4/10/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview

4/10/2017- The Broke Book bank- Review

4/11/2017- Read Day and Night- Review

4/11/2017- Wishful Endings- Review

4/12/2017- Books,Dreams,Life- Excerpt

4/12/2017- Book-Keeping- Review

4/13/2017- Bibliobibuli YA- Interview

4/13/2017- Reese’s Reviews- Review

4/14/2017- YA Book Madness- Guest Post

4/14/2017- Taking It One Book at a Time- Review

 

2 thoughts on “When Planets Fall Blog Tour: Interview and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

