Flicker and Mist Blog Tour: Interview with Mary G. Thompson and Giveaway

flicker

Today we are so excited to be part of Flicker and Mist blog tour!

dance

Let’s take a look at Flicker and Mist!


 

About the Book:

Title: FLICKER AND MIST

Author: Mary G. Thompson

flicker-2Pub. Date: January 3, 2017

Publisher: Clarion Books

Pages: 384

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

Romance, intrigue, and plenty of action are woven into a rich and suspenseful narrative in this powerful YA fantasy. The mixed-race heroine Myra is a Flickerkin and can flicker (become invisible) at will. She hasn’t cultivated or revealed this ability, since Flickerkin are persecuted as potential criminals and spies. When invisible people become tricksters and then murderers, Myra’s Flickerkin heritage becomes a deadly secret, putting her relationship with the leader’s son—and her own life—in jeopardy. Loyalties shift and difficult choices are made before Myra understands who she wants to be.


 

And to the interview with Mary!

 

  1. What drew you into writing?

When I was a little kid, my dad was a reporter. He made writing sound really cool, so I was always writing the beginnings of stories. It took until after law school for me to realize that if I wanted to ever be a published author, I’d have to finish something. Even though it turned out to be more work than I realized, I still think writing is pretty cool!

  1. The concept of the story sounds amazing! How did you come up with the idea of Flickerkin?

I wanted to write about invisibility for a long time, and I kept sketching out middle grade ideas with characters about 11 or 12 years old, but none of them seemed quite right. Then a scene popped into my mind where Myra’s mother was being taken away by the guards after failing the test and being exposed as a Flickerkin. Once I wrote the scene, I knew I had the right concept. The scene is no longer in the book though!

  1. Do you have any habits you do when writing? Like I have to have coffee while I write.

I certainly drink plenty of coffee! I also eat a lot of chocolate, mostly dark chocolate chips. Often there’s a lot of chewing gum involved. One thing I don’t do is listen to music. Some authors have to have their playlist going, but I need quiet!

  1. I see you were an attorney and were in the Navy, do you use any of that experiment in your stories?

I haven’t yet written anything set in the Navy or in a courtroom. Whenever I start thinking about a concept using my professional experience, it feels boring to me. Maybe someday I’ll think of a way to liven it up.

  1. Quick, if you were stranded on an island what 3 things would you desperately want with you?

Unlimited writing supplies.

A million books.

My reading glasses.

Oh, and water 🙂


flciker-3About Mary: 

Mary G. Thompson was raised in Cottage Grove and Eugene, OR. She was a practicing attorney for more than seven years, including almost five years in the US Navy, and is now a law librarian in Washington, DC. She received her BA from Boston University, her JD from the University of Oregon, and her MFA in Writing for Children from The New School.


Website
 | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a signed finished copy of FLICKER AND MIST, US Only.

Enter Here!

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

12/26/2016- Twinning for Books- Interview

12/27/2016- Seeing Double In Neverland- Review

12/28/2016- Wandering Bark Books- Guest Post

12/29/2016- Fiktshun- Review

12/30/2016- YA Book Madness- Interview

Week Two:

1/2/2017- Fiction Fare- Review

1/3/2017- A Gingerly Review- Excerpt

1/4/2017- Curling Up With A Good Book – Excerpt

1/5/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview

1/6/2017- Nerdophiles- Review

Leave a Reply

