Frost Blog Tour

frost

 

We are excited to be the first stop in the Frost Blog Tour by M.P. Kozlowsky!

frost2

Today we have author M.P. Kozlowsky as a special guest talking about his writing and his book. Let’s take a look at Frost!


frost1

About the Book

Title: FROST

Author: M.P. Kozlowsky

Pub. Date: October 11, 2016

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 352

Formats: Hardcover, paperback, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

 

Cinder meets The Walking Dead in a chilling futuristic fairy tale that will reboot everything you thought about family, love, and what it means to be human.

Sixteen-year-old Frost understands why she’s spent her entire life in an abandoned apartment building. The ruined streets below are hunting grounds for rogue robots and Eaters.

She understands why she’s never met a human besides her father. She even understands why he forbids her to look for medicine for her dying pet. But the thing is, it’s not her real father giving the orders . . .

It’s his memories.

Before he died, Frost’s father uploaded his consciousness into their robot servant. But the technology malfunctioned, and now her father fades in and out. So when Frost learns that there might be medicine on the other side of the ravaged city, she embarks on a dangerous journey to save the only living creature she loves.

With only a robot as a companion, Frost must face terrors of all sorts, from outrunning the vicious Eaters . . . to talking to the first boy she’s ever set eyes on. But can a girl who’s only seen the world through books and dusty windows survive on her own?


And now to the guest post!

frost

  1. How did you come up with the idea for Frost? This book sounds fantastic!

The idea came to me at a really horrible time in my life. My dog was dying and I was taking him to the vet to be put down. But, because I could not carry him due to the pain, he had to walk, though this was very difficult and slow. So, as I gently tugged at the leash, tears streaming down my face, I was struck by an image of a young girl dragging her beloved pet through the city in a desperate attempt to save its life. That day, my dog was saved, and FROST was born.

  1. When you sit down and write do you have any writing rituals?

frost

Not rituals in the sense of good luck charms or something to inspire me, but more like daily habits that I cannot shake. I am a very structured person and one day looks like the next looks like the next and so on. When my routine is interrupted, my writing cannot recover — I am forced to wait until the next day to try again, which is incredibly frustrating. I wish I could change, but all attempts have failed miserably.

 

  1. What author do you like to read? Are there any books that have influence you as an author?

frost

I enjoy Don DeLillo, Thomas Pynchon, Cormac McCarthy, Kelly Link, Colson Whitehead, Donna Tartt, David Foster Wallace, among so many others. I’ve been influenced by all of them, though lately I have been reading nothing but nonfiction.

 

  1. Tell us the truth, the writing cave can be extensive and time consuming…do you take showers?

frost

I can’t wake up if I don’t shower — I’d be going through the day in a daze, my thoughts locked behind a hazy shield desperate to be washed away. Any writing would be crusted over with inferiority.

 

  1. What advice can you give aspiring authors?

My greatest advice is for every aspirant to put in the time no matter how chaotic the life and how daunting it may seem. Sacrifices will have to be made, whether its TV, parties, sleep, friends, etc. If you want to succeed, you need to write nearly everyday for at least an hour or two, and that is at the minimum. The greatest trait I possess is not my writing abilities, but my discipline. Ambition is a close second. These will carry you more than talent ever


 

frost3

About M.P.:

M.P. Kozlowsky lives in New York City with his wife and two daughters. He is the author of Juniper Berry and The Dyerville Tales, books for readers of all ages.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 


 

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of FROST. US Only.

 

 

Rafflecopter

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/3/2017- Twinning for Books- Interview

10/4/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings- Review

10/5/2017- Just Commonly- Guest Post

10/6/2017- Pretty Deadly Reviews- Review

10/7/2017- Books and Ladders- Excerpt

 

Week Two:

10/10/2017- Emily Reads Everything- Review

10/11/2017- Curling Up With A Good Book- Guest Post

10/12/2017- Betwixt the Pages- Review

10/13/2017- The Cover Contessa- Interview

10/14/2017- A Gingerly Review- Review

One thought on “Frost Blog Tour

  1. “Cinder meets The Walking Dead.” I haven’t read Cinder, but I do love The Walking Dead so now I’m really interested. 🙂

Leave a Reply

