Throwback Thursday: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson Review

I’ve decided to try something new on my reviews every Thursday by doing something old.

walk

I’m going to start reading older books. Books that have been out for while whether they’re bestsellers or classics.

walk

Today’s book is something that made me venture out of my comfort zone. I read a non-fiction book.

walk

I just recently watched the movie A Walk in the Woods and really liked it. I knew it was a book about a man who went hiking on the Appalachian Trail with a buddy of his. I had heard of Bill Bryson and knew he was very popular from working at the bookstore. So I decided to try and read it. I finished it in 2 days.

Let’s take a look at A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson.


walk

The Appalachian Trail trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the most breathtaking terrain in America–majestic mountains, silent forests, sparking lakes. If you’re going to take a hike, it’s probably the place to go. And Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaining guide you’ll find. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way–and a couple of bears.


 

 

 

Tawney’s Review:  I never thought I could learn so much from a book and not realize it until I was almost finished. I always stayed away from non-fiction books because of the boring mellow dry history that accompanies some of those books. But maybe I haven’t really found my author. Maybe I didn’t give these books a chance. Or maybe I should’ve just picked up Bill Bryson first.

walk

This book is a travel memoir about a man who decides to hike the Appalachian Trail. Now that is 2,100-mile trail! I know this because I learned it from the book. I actually learned a lot from that book. I’m not much of a hiker. I love hiking for a couple of hours or a day trip but you definitely need to be prepared when doing this hike. It can take up to 5 to 7 months to hike all of the trail.

walk

Bryson has an urge to take a long hike and decides to try the Appalachian Trail.  But he doesn’t go on this trip alone. Accompanying him is his friend Stephen Katz, a former drunk. Katz and Bryson are out of shape and beginner hikers so things don’t start off well.  Plus they are carrying the heaviest backpacks full of their tents, food, water, clothes and other items needed. Along the way they meet hilarious people and I found myself laughing out loud at Bryson’s description of his interactions with them.

walk

What I loved about this was not only the relationship between Bryson and the eccentric Katz but all the interesting history and facts he weaved into this story. He went from talking about his journey to going back to the history of his surroundings.  I never once found myself bored or skipping these little facts placed throughout the book.

Should you read it? Yes! Bryson has great humor and sarcasm that make the read enjoyable. I will defiantly pick up more of his books.

starstarstarstar


About the Author:

Bill Bryson was born in Des Moines, Iowa. For twenty years he lived in England, where he worked for the TimBill Brysones and the Independent, and wrote for most major British and American publications. His books include travel memoirs (Neither Here Nor There; The Lost Continent; Notes from a Small Island) and books on language (The Mother Tongue; Made in America). His account of his attempts to walk the Appalachian Trail, A Walk in the Woods, was a huge New York Times bestseller. He lives in Hanover, New Hampshire, with his wife and his four children.
Leave a Reply

