How Adult Coloring Books help my anxiety.

 

I have anxiety. There I said it it. Whew that was hard.

anxiety

Anxiety is hard. I’ve tried everything to calm my mind and heart. From yoga to running to therapy. They help during the day but at night my mind churns and my heart pounds against my chest like a drum. It keeps me up with worry. With stress. With what’s next?

anxiety

 I needed a way to calm my mind. Something to bring everything back down. I need sleep. I wanted to be normal again.

anxiety

And then a couple of years ago I stumbled across this beautiful coloring book…for adults. I bought it along with markers and started to color an hour before I went to bed every night. I was teased for it. You’re coloring? Why? Isn’t that for kids?

anxiety

Now this was before it became popular. Before the color parties started and the books could be bought anywhere. I didn’t care. You know what? It worked. I would color these eccentric designs of animals or objects and my mind would only concentrate on that particular thing. What color to pick and to stay between the lines.  Everything left my thoughts except the coloring book. My body responded with relaxation.

anxiety

It helped! It may not have cured it but it has made me calm before bedtime, something I have been struggling with.

So below I gathered all of my favorite coloring books and listed the top 5. Yes I have finished most of them. I tell you the coloring works. If you have anxiety, or fears, or worries just pick up a coloring book and color. Don’t worry about anything but that coloring book.


1: The Secret Garden: An inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book 

anxiety

This beautiful and interactive coloring book features delicate and highly detailed pen-and-ink illustrations—all waiting to be brought to life with color. As added entertainment, tiny garden creatures are hidden on the pages, waiting to be found, and a key and index are included in the back.

This was the first adult coloring book I picked up. 

 

 

 

2. Lost Ocean: An Inky Adventure and Coloring Book

anxiety

 

With this coloring book for adults, Johanna Basford invites color-inners of all ages to discover an enchanting underwater world hidden in the depths of the sea. Through intricate pen and ink illustrations to complete, color, a
nd embellish, readers will meet shoals of exotic fish, curious octopuses, and delicately penned seahorses. Visit coral reefs and barnacle-studded shipwrecks, discover intricate shells and pirate treasure.

 

3. I Love My Hair

anxiety

 Revel in the mesmerizing patte
rns and intricate details of Andrea Pippins’s delicate pen-and-ink illustrations, ready for you to color, complete, and embellish. Lose yourself in page after page of bold hairstyles and accessories, from rows of braids, to Mohawks, to sweeping updos, to cascades of ribbons and beads. Be transported to another world as you ink in Medusa’s slithering coiffure, Cleopatra’s elaborate headdress, and Marie Antoinette’s towering bouffant.

Perfect for experienced color-inners and newcomers alike. Coloring enthusiasts of all ages will love this empowering and stylish book. So go ahead—let your hair down, grab some pens or pencils, and add some color to your life.

4. Enchanted Forestanxiety

This magical coloring book by Johanna Basford takes colorists through an enchanted forest to discover what lies in the castle. Similarly interactive like SECR
ET GARDEN, ENCHANTED FOREST
also features hidden objects and fun mazes. Beginning at the entrance to a fairy-tale forest, the journey progresses through highly embellished woods and through intricate flora. Castles, treasure chests, and other magical elements add a fairy tale narrative to the designs. Special features include a gate-folded two-page spread, and a colorable jacket

5. Imaginmorphia: An Extreme Coloring and Search Challenge 

anxiety

Fans of adult coloring books are invited to enter the weird and wonderful world of Kerby Rosanes, the illustrator behind the Sketchy Stories blog and Animorphia, the international phenomenon and New York Times bestseller. In Imagimorphia, animals and objects morph and explode into astounding detail. Bring each intricate image to life with color and find the objects hidden throughout the book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These books have helped immensely and I can’t wait to find new ones! If you have anxiety feel free to comment and tell me how you combat it! Or what you like to color!

Love Tawney

One thought on “How Adult Coloring Books help my anxiety.

  1. I would really like to try adult colouring books, but I’ve never got around to it! I’m glad to this helps you, maybe it will help me too when I’m felling a little stressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

