Spotlight Thursday: Author Stacey Lee

Every Thursday we spotlight authors, agents and more! It’s to let writers and readers know there are awesome resources out there! And awesome books!

Today we are excited to have author Stacey Lee joining us!

helloe

I LOVE Stacey’s books. Her writing is beautiful and her description so vivid! Not only does she have strong characters but they represent the best Asian characters out there. Hollywood needs to read these books and learn!

read

Her western book Under a Painted Sky is about two girls posing as boys on the Oregon trail with hot cowboys! HOT COWBOYS! The strength of the book was the friendship and I had all the emotions when I read it! Check out my review of Under a Painted Sky here.

Her new book Outrun The Moon is just as epic and the words just as beautiful! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC and this book is a must read!!!

Enough with my glowing praise for Stacey…to the interview!


Tawney: You have two books coming out this year, Outrun the Moon in May and The Secret of a Heart Note in Dec, how does it feel? Is it more work than having one book come out per year.

TYPE

Stacey: Yes, it is a bit more work! I have to stay very organized and to accept that I won’t have time for everything. I’m definitely wishing right now there were more than 24 hrs in a day.

Tawney: What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Stacey: I was surprised to find such amazing support from strangers. When people (like yourself, Tawney!) go out of their way support my book with tweets, pictures, fan art,  poetry, etc. it really touches and humbles me.  

fangirl
 


Tawney: There’s such a great diversity movement going on in the book world and you are a big supporter in We Need Diverse Books, have you seen an improvement and how can others get involve in such a great movement?

 

Stacey: Yes, I think public awareness is a huge step toward change. I am heartened to see books like Angela Thomas‘ THE HATE YOU GIVE go to auction, and to witness WNDB programs like the Walter Award and the WNDB Internship Programs gain momentum (and btw, if you’re interested in a career in publishing, the deadline to apply for one of the nine WNDB internship grants is May 31). There are so many ways to support diverse books. For readers— buy them, request them at the library, review them, spread the word about them. For librarians and booksellers—make diverse books visible and use shelf talkers (WNDB has a great book talking kit to get you started). For teachers—invite diverse authors to visit, even if just through Skype. Use diverse books in your lesson planning.And keep the conversation going. One day we won’t have to talk about ‘diverse books,’ they’ll just be ‘books,’ imagine that!

giphy

 

Tawney: When you emerge from your editing cave with a book completely finished, what one thing do you always have to do?

Stacey: I mostly definitely book a massage. It is a guilty but necessary pleasure as writing kills my neck.
massage

 

Tawney: What literary character is most like you?

 

green

Stacey: Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables. She lets her imagination run wild and it sometimes gets her into big trouble. Check. Also, she loves her friends and family deeply, something I can relate to.

 

Thank you so much for participating Stacey! We loved having you on the blog and can’t wait until everyone can read Outrun the Moon! 

 

GIVEAWAY ALERT!

Stacey is doing a huge giveaway for Outrun The Moon! A trip to San Francisco! Details here

About the Author:

My name is Stacey Heather Lee and I write young adult books. I’ve dreamed of writing books for a living since I was nine, when I penned my first children’s novel. For four years, I labored to type it on the family Smith Corona (that’s a typewriter, kids). Each time I made a typo, I would retype the whole page. By the time I finished, my fingers flew at 120 wpm. The book became a bestseller amongst my stuffed animals, and baby, I was on my way!

But before I could write for the un-stuffed crowd, I had to make several stops in the real world. Hi Mom and Dad! I studied, got degrees, and earned paychecks. In my spare time, I continued writing. Several years later, I got a wonderful agent, and now I write even when I’m sleeping. I hope you will enjoy browsing my website. All are welcome, stuffing and all.

I am a fourth generation Chinese-American.  A native of southern California, I graduated from UCLA then got my law degree at UC Davis King Hall.  After practicing law in Silicon Valley for several years, I finally took up the pen because I wanted the perks of being able to nap during the day, and it was easier than moving to Spain.  I play classical piano, raise my two children together with my supportive husband, and write YA fiction.

Follow Stacey on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and her blog!

 

Love Tawney

Leave a Reply

