What we are working on!

February is almost done and we’re checking in on what we’ve been up to.

check in

How’s the writing going? What have we been doing this month? What are we reading? Let’s find out!


Kelly:

please

What I’m reading:

I was extremely lucky to win a copy of Laura Tim’s debut novel PLEASE DON’T TELL from a giveaway by Dahlia Adler. This book, which comes out in May, is getting incredible advance buzz and I can see why. I love the dark tone and the seemingly unreliable narrator. I’m having to force myself to put this down so I can get a reasonable amount of sleep.

please

What I’m working on:

For quite a while, I’ve been working on a YA Thriller that I have now sent to my agent, the always fantastic Kathleen Rushall, for feedback. While I wait, I’m beginning my next project. This is a YA contemporary that I’m hoping will be a heartfelt take on a few things that have really been on my mind lately. I’m also toying with the idea of trying to revive my little brother character, Charles, from my first novel, THE WHITE LEHUA and incorporate him somehow. I really did like my budding eight-year-old botanist and would like to see him find a new fictional home. It’s been a bit a bit of a challenge switching gears from the murder and mayhem of my thriller but I’ve got my favorite journals and my copy of K.W. Weiland’s OUTLINING YOUR NOVEL WORKBOOK to help!

 

What I’m watching:

xfiles

Inspired by the recent X-Files mini-series on Fox, I’m binge-watching the original X-Files on Netflix. It’s inspiring a lot of 90’s era nostalgia. I’m mid-way in season two and there’s so much stuff that just couldn’t happen in today’s smartphone-oriented world. I almost die laughing every time they bust out that massive Polaroid camera. But the acting, pacing and suspense are as great as I remember. The truth is still out there!

Kelly


Kristen

What I’m reading:

mercy

I’ve been on a 90’s kick. Recently, I’ve been listening to Smells Like the 90s on iHeart Radio during my gym sessions (Yay, alternative music!). The songs have been bringing back so many memories of my junior high and high school years! It’s made me dive into my old books, the ones I used to read to escape from homework and parents! I’ve started rereading LJ Smith’s Vampire Diaries (I have the original books from 1996). And can I just say how these books are VERY different from the TV series?!! I love Smith’s writing and how you can’t stop reading!!! She makes you want to finish the series in one sitting! I have The Secret Circle series to read next!

 

What I’m working on:

I’m still working on my Viking story and the sequel to Blonde Eskimo (BE). I hope to finish the Viking story by the end of March, and then the fun begins! Edits (Insert scream here)! I’m struggling with the sequel to BE but hope to have it finished soon. I am also working on a cosplay for Phoenix Comic Con. I plan to cosplay a spirit guardian from BE. I commissioned a wonderful and very talented cosplay/artist to create a mask for me and my friend is helping me design an incredible outfit. It’s going to be fantastic!

What I’m watching:

xfiles

Like my fellow blogger Kelly, I’ve been binge-watching the original X-Files too. I’m on season 3. Only 7 more seasons to go! I think it was a combination of listening to it Smells Like the 90s and reading Vampire Dairies that helped push me into watching X-Files. Plus, I was a huge fan when the original series was on. My twin and I would watch with our parents every night it was on. That series gave me nightmares when I was younger. Now, I laugh. I love Mulder’s and Scully’s relationship and their bantering! Some of their one liners are to die for! ❤

Kristen


 Tawney

What I’m reading:

 

I’ve been reading a lot lately. I just finished Morning Star by Pierce Brown. A wonderful conclusion to the Red Rising Series. I read Beyond the Red, Queen of the Tearling, Black Hearts, and Why They Run the Way They Do. I have some great books that I just received from publishers that I can’t wait to dive into: Some of the Parts,Two If by Sea, and Perfect Days. ALL THE BOOKS!books

 

What I’m working on:

I’m editing away on my YA fantasy Turbulent Skies. I have a few friends looking it over right now to see if it sucks. HAHAHAH. It’s just good to get some advice and a new set of eyes on the piece. I’m also working on an outline to an Alaskan adventure about twins stuck out in the wilderness where they have to come to terms about their deteriorating relationship. And there’s a nasty bear stalking them! I have other ideas but right now I’m going to concentrate on my YA fantasy series. I already have the sequel to Turbulent Skies first draft done called Radiant Deception. I’m outlining the third novel Piercing Darkness.

What I’m watching:

jessica

My hubs and I just binged watched Jeissica Jones. I wasn’t a DareDevil fan but Jessica Jones show was edgy, dark and had wonderful dialogue. I can never look at David Tennant the same again. He was pure evil!  We also binged watch a show called MAD DOGS. It was such a great movie about four friends dealing with murder, drugs and corrupt officials. I love Netflix and Amazon Prime because I can watch these shows straight to the end. I don’t have to wait every week for the next episode. I think that’s the future of television!

Love Tawney

Leave a Reply

