Setting Writing Goals

I really haven’t been a person who sets goals. I mean I set them but the follow through is lacking.

goals

I love writing. I could do it everyday. Immersing myself in enchanted worlds with unique characters that spring to life from my mind is fantastic. I have six novels I have written. That’s pretty good since I started a couple of years ago. But there is a problem with those six novels…

goal 2

They aren’t finished.

I never edit or revise. I move on. Most of you know that since I talk about it a lot. So I’m trying to come up with a solution to this problem. I need to set goals. We all know goals are hard. How can we stick to them? I recently had a writer’s brunch at Writer’s Atelier where Ella Martin discussed goals. She pointed out that the wonderful author Victoria Schwab has a unique idea on how she sets up her goals. It starts with STARS and a calendar!

goals4

Each star represents a goal. You can use any colors! Who wouldn’t want a star? So I took that idea and went with it. Here’s what my goals look like so far for February.

goals 6

I not only have writing goals but other goals as well. The Red star is for the gym, the Yellow for pages on editing, the light blue for words when writing,and the purple exercise- anything outside of the gym. Now you can see my goals on the gym aren’t so good. Gym is hard, especially waking up at 5:30 am. But the words and pages are everyday. Every time one goal is finished I get to put a star up! It’s exciting! Seeing those stars on the calendar makes me feel like I have accomplished something, because I did!

goals 7

For the first time I’m sticking with a story and finishing it. It’s a revelation that I hope will keep me on track to one day query an agent!

How do you set your goals? Do you have a process to keep them stable?

Love Tawney

Leave a Reply

