Our Goals for the New Year

Happy New Year lovelies!

party

Today we post what we hope 2016 brings! Whether it regards writing, reading and life we want this year to be great.


Kristen:

Wow! I can’t believe it’s 2016! Where did 2015 go? I feel like the year flew by in a flash- as if I was running at supersonic speed while the world passed me by in a blur. I barely stopped to catch my breath.

flash

Overall, 2015 was a year of learning and discovery. I’ve already been working on bettering myself, conquering my anxiety, and staying healthy, but I’ve neglected my writing and blogging. I was extremely burnt out after the publication of my debut novel Blonde Eskimo. The journey was such an emotional roller coaster ride, full of ups and downs, that I couldn’t find the passion to write. It’s buried somewhere deep-down in my soul waiting for me to unleash it from its iron cage. I feel lost. I feel unfinished, and I need to fix it. So, the need to fix my writing has become a part of my 2016 New Year’s resolution:

 

  • Write/blog more: Truthfully, I don’t write enough. I want to set at least an hour aside to write every day. Once I have a schedule down and get into the groove of writing, I think I’ll get more done. It’s hard to get back onto the computer after working a 10 hour day. Blurry eyes, stiff fingers, and nodding off are some of the contenders I have to deal with. Oh, and a cat who likes to sit on my keyboard when I’m writing at home certainly doesn’t make things any easier.
  • Complete 3 books: I have three stories that I’m currently working on. The first is the sequel to Blonde Eskimo, the second is a Viking story, and the third is a middle grade book (There’s a unicorn in this story!!!!). I hope to have all these stories finished by the end of 2016, and I’m keeping fingers and toes crossed.
  • Enjoy life: I have horrible anxiety, and I worry about every little thing. This year, I want to enjoy life and not worry about things so much. Like Dory, I want to just keep swimming.

I don’t know about you, but I would like to leave 2015 in the dust and not look back. I’m ready for 2016. I have a great feeling about this year!

just

Love Kristen


Tawney:

This year has past by extremely fast. Moving to a new state across the country has been tough. I have had a lot of anxiety being in a new place without my family and friends. I miss home. But I’m starting to settle in with making wonderful friends and exploring my new surroundings. I wrote two novels in 2015, traveled to NY and to the Caribbean island ST John, went to so many cool concerts and moved to a new house. I hope 2017 brings even more wonderful adventures.

adventure

Here our my goals for 2016:

Edit away: I honestly don’t edit or finish my novels. I usually move on to something new. I think I’m a little hesitant to do it. I usually have too many ideas in my head and I want to move on to the next story. The real problem might be that I’m scared to go through all that trouble and once it’s finished the story just still sucks. I have 5 novels I finished in the last 4 years. I’m going to sit down and edit them. They may not be great and need a lot of work, but one of them could be my masterpiece to get the attention of an agent.

Query: Once I’m done editing I want to query my dream agents. I’ve never queried before and the thought of my stories in their hands freaks me out. But I want to try and at least I can say I did it instead of wondering what if?

Travel:  Since I’m living out on the east coast now I would love to explore this side of the country. Go to Washington DC and see our capitol and all the monuments. Go visit New Orleans for a long weekend. I am so up for more adventures.

Enjoy Life: I’m stealing Kristen’s goal as well. I have anxiety and want to just relax and go with the flow. Not to worry about everything. I want to read all the books this year from all genres. I want to stay active and healthy by running, biking and eating right. I want to make lots of friends and be spontaneous!

Bring on the new year!

bring

Love Tawney

 

What are your goals for the New Year?

Leave a Reply

