Funday Friday: What We’re Thankful For!

Thanksgiving has come and gone, but it got us thinking…

think

What are we thankful for?

Here are five things we’re thankful for!


Kelly:

Five Things I’m Thankful for:

1 – My family is happy and healthy

I know. This is what everyone says. But this year, for me, this point hit home in a major way. Last year, I was suffering from terrible back pain that kept me on tons of medication and ultimately required surgery. Normally, we spend Thanksgiving at my sister-in-law’s house, where she puts on an amazing spread. Last year, I had to leave early and go home to go back to bed. This year, I’ve had my surgery, am feeling great and looking forward to a fantastic holiday. My family is going great, too, and I am super thankful for this.

2 – My immediate support system

I am so lucky that my husband and daughter are behind me all the way as I continue on my quest to become a published author. My writing family, including my KickAZ writers group and my favorite twins, Tawney and Kristen, inspire me and humble me.

3 – My extended support system

My peeps over at The Writer Diaries and YAgabonds along with all the amazing writers I’ve been able to connect with via social media have helped me keep going in tough times.

4 – My agent

Yes! I have an agent. I am so thankful for Kathleen Rushall over at Marsal Lyon. It’s been such a buoyant experience to find an advocate for my stories. It’s also pretty cool that Kathleen is pretty much a rock star of agenting!!

5 – Stories

Like many people, I became a writer because I fell in love with reading and with stories. There have been times in the past, when the best thing about my life were the stories I could disappear in. Books have so much power, both to transport us to far away places and to tell us about the world we live in.

Five Books I’m Thankful for:

Dumplin

1DUMPLIN

I love this book and am so thankful Julie Murphy is taking so many of the negative stereotypes and clichés about overweight girls/women and obliterating them.

simon2SIMON VS. THE HOME SAPIEN AGENDA

Becky Albertalli’s book has so much heart and deserves it’s spot on all those Best Of lists. The only bad thing about this book is that it makes me crave Oreos. And I really don’t want to eat more Oreos.

six3SIX OF CROWS

Okay, full disclaimer. I’m about halfway through this book right now. But I am loving it!! I love the fact that it goes a little dark and I am always a sucker for a well-done heist story. Plus, Leigh Bardugo’s fantasy world building is amazing.

4 SUICIDE NOTES FROM BEAUTIFUL GIRLSsuicide

In light of the recent #MorallyComplicatedYA controversy, I’ve been thinking about Lynn Weingarten’s book. Its complicated, sort of messed-up female characters and unique ending are great examples of morally complicated literature.

5Anything by Christa Desir

And speaking of morally complicated, that term basically describes anything written by Christa Desir, but especially FAULT LINE. That book follows a rape survivor, Ani. Both she and those around her are full of complications and contradictions in the aftermath of the sexual assault. Christa’s work is proof positive that morally complicated YA isn’t a recent phenomenon.

blonde

 

AND…honorable mention to our very own Kristen Hunt’s BLONDE ESKIMO, a beautiful YA fantasy that explores Eskimo mythology.

 

 

 


Tawney:

Five Things I’m Thankful for:

1An understanding husband

We moved to Florida a year ago and I got a part-time job. I thought this job would give me free reign to do more things than a full-time job. But this job wasn’t letting me do the things I thought I could do, especially taking vacations. My husband told me to take the rest of the year off to write. So I sadly quite my job but now I’m writing everyday and enjoying it immensely.

2 – My friends

Leaving AZ was hard but my friends have been there for me even though they live across the country. Some of those friends are writers, like me KICK AZ group of Lisa, Kelly, Amy and Riki! They have always pushed me to succeed. I also made new friends in FL who have helped me acclimate to my surroundings and write. Thank you Tara, Racquel and Anna for hanging with the new girl! And to the twins Fallon and Morgan who love to talk about books and wait in lines with me for authors.

3 – My family

I’ve been homesick a lot with this move but my family has been trying to help out in anyway, even visiting for Christmas. I’m so thankful for their support for us moving to FL for new opportunities. They have visited a lot, to help with the move and to just show love. It’s been hard being away from my twin but we try to talk and communicate everyday.

4 – Books

Books are my escape. I’m so thankful for wonderful authors who take me to a new world with so many adventures. Sometimes life is hard and one book can be a wonderful escape from reality.

5 – Disney World/ Harry Potter World

I’ve said before that this move was hard but one thing that has made it easy was the theme parks. Just one drive down the freeway I can escape being an adult and become a kid again. I don’t have to worry about finding a job or editing my next manuscript. The stress levels decrease and the smile never stops.

 

Five Books I’m Thankful for:

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES

1An Ember in the Ashes

This book had it all! Action, adventure and one bad villain I loved to hate. She is the Commandant. Sabaa jus
t kept throwing the action, the drama and one hell of a cliffhanger!

2Under a Painted Skyunder

This book gave me all the emotions. But what I loved about Stacey’s book, other than the setting in the Wild West with great secondary characters or the writing, was the premise. It was about the friendship of two girls.

RedQueen-HC-C3Red Queen

This book had an Xmen vibe set in a fantasy-dystopian world. Victoria did an excellent job at world building and creating intriguing characters.

bazaar

4The Bazaar Of Bad Dreams

Stephen King is one of my all time favorite authors. I love the horror he puts in each book. But what I love most is his short stories. So powerful and well written, they inspire me to write and find my way in the writer world.

WRATHcover5The Wrath and the Dawn

Renee spun a wonderful story of a girl weaving tales to the Caliph (King) to stay alive and seeks revenge for her friend’s death. With beautiful description and wonderful story telling I couldn’t put this book down.

 

 


 

Leave a Reply

