The Wrath and The Dawn Review

It’s been a while since I did a review or posted something on here. I’ve been on vacation and I’m moving again! Ugh…don’t get me started on that.

I’ve read today’s book a while ago. I’ve been meaning to post a review but life got in the way. Today I’m happy to share my thoughts on this wonderfully written read.

Let’s take a look at The Wrath and The Dawn by Rene Ahdieh!


 

WRATHcover

 

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. B
ut she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.
She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

amazon 


 

My Review: 

I love retellings of fairytales. I always think there is so much more to the story than given. I heard about Rene’s book on social media. I was also fortunate enough to have her part of Writer Diaries Pre-Pub Adventure! It’ was wonderful following her pre-publishing experience with her book. I immediatley snatched The Wrath and the Dawn up on release day and was very grateful I did. The Wrath and the Dawn is a retelling of 1001 Nights or known as Arabian Nights. The story goes that a King kills all his wives at Dawn. One girl tries to stay alive by telling the king stories. But that’s just how close The Wrath and the Dawn gets to the retelling. This book took it’s own turn on a great story to make a fantastic adventure.

Shahrzad is on a mission of revenge. Her best friend became one of the many brides of King Khalid to fall victim at dawn. Her life was taken and Shahrzad wants to know why. She wants to save the rest of the young women from falling prey to this evil. So she places herself in danger to become a wife to the King.

wrath 4

She wants to destroy Khalid but complications arise as she finds him not the monster the rumors say he is.

I really enjoyed this story. The beginning was a little slow but once you pass the first couple of chapters, it moves with brilliant poetic words. The true story starts with Shahrzad and Khalid. Their connection starts as a small spark but by the end of the book it’s a flaming star.

wrath 3

Rene did a wonderful job weaving the story together with fantastic characters. I really rooted for Khalid to be the good guy. He cares for his people and will do anything for his kingdom. There’s a reason the wives must die. No spoilers here. Rene did a wonderful job at creating a character that might do monstrous things but you can’t help but feel for him.

Shazi is a kick ass heroine. I loved the emotions she felt with Khalid. They were up and down, true emotions that connected with me. I felt her every fear and doubts. Khalid became more appealing as the book went on. Shazi’s childhood friend and love, Tariq, is out to save her. He also has a cool falcon as an accessory. Not to mention rides around on an Arabian horse. Who wouldn’t want him as your friend?

wrath 2

He wants to protect Shazi but he didn’t expect how much she changed. There are also other characters I loved that had their own little stories weaved throughout this book. Rene did a wonderful job at developing her characters. They were just as much a part of the book as Shazi and Khalid.

This book had vivid description and great settings. The food they ate, the desert and the city, I could see all of it. When Shazi and Khalid were in disguise running in an alley being chased by thieves, I was at the edge of my seat. Once you get past the slow part the book takes flight and you can’t put it down!

Rene’s words pierced my heart. Her writing is poetic especially in her dialogue between the characters, notably Shazi and Khalid. Rene left little easter eggs for us for the next book such as a flying carpet and the way the story ended.  With so much drama and the ending! What???? My heart has been ripped out because I need more. I’m very pleased there will be a squeal because I will definitely pick it up….because I need more.

wrath

 

Should you read it? Yes! Even if you haven’t read 1001 Nights, this book is it’s own story. You will fall in love with the characters and the description. Rene writes beautifully and I couldn’t help but fall in love with the monster.

starstarstarstarstar


 

Renee

I live in North Carolina (Go Heels!) with my husband Victor and our dog Mushu. My YA fantasy novel, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN, is available wherever books are sold. In my spare time, I like to cook, dance salsa, and wreak havoc on the lives of my characters.

Follow Rene on Follow Renee on twitterFacebookGoodreadsInstagram, and/or her blog.

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

I’m so excited for you guys to read this book. Go forth and buy it! You won’t regret it.

happy

Love Tawney

5 thoughts on “The Wrath and The Dawn Review

Leave a Reply

