Nightborn Review

I’m always looking for a good fantasy, especially for middle graders to recommend at the library. Children love fantasy as much as adults!

indeed-harry-potter

I think I found a great series! Let’s take a look at the second book in the series Thrones and Bones, Nightborn!


 

nightborn

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Series: Thrones and Bones

From the author of “Frostborn” comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull.
Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. “Not” a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.
Meet Desstra. She’s in training to join the Underhand–the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.
Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?
The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers. Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more!

Buy Links:

 

My Review:

**Thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me a copy of this book to read in exchange for an honest review!**

I honestly never have heard of this series. I just became a librarian assistant and am branching out to different genres. That way I can recommend books to all ages. I love Rick Riordan series and have been trying to find a book that is similar for kids to read but with more fantasy. I think I found it.

Frostborn was a wonderful start to this new series, Thrones and Bones. Nightborn is the second installment of the series and was just as good as the first book. Frostborn left us with Karn and Thianna destroying the horn of Horn of Osius, a magical horn allowing the user to control all reptilian creatures such as snakes, wyverns and dragons. Did we mention there were dragons in this book?

dragons

Karn and Thianna went back to their lives but wait..it turns out the horn wasn’t the only one made. There are two more and the Dark Elves may be after it. Yes, there are elves too!

elf

We see more of Anders’ world in the second book with more fantastic creatures and settings. Frost giants and the Dark Elves played big parts in the first book and I was delighted on the new fantasy characters he introduced in Nightborn. We meet Desstra, an elf who has been training all her life. She’s on the hunt for the horn as well, to prove herself to her people. This is where she runs into Karn. Thianna does return in the book, which was a delight to see her again. Karn and Thianna’s friendship made the first book and I was glad she returned. I did connect with Desstra and her quest plus she’s an elf so who couldn’t like her?

The world building is fantastic. There’s so many elements making up this world with characters, places and events. Anders does a wonderful job at weaving them together. The action is intense which will definitely keep children occupied. They won’t want to put the book down! What’s even more fantastic is this book as the first one resolves around a game. The author does a wonderful job incorporating a board game into the story. There’s even game instructions included!

I highly recommend this serious to children looking for something similar to Rick Riordan’s series but meets a Lord of the Rings for kids fantasy. They won’t want to put the book down!

falcor

Love Tawney Twin

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Nightborn Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s