Book Friday: The Orphan Queen

Today we’re gushing over a wonderful book

fangirl

What a great read with intense action and wonderful characters! Let’s take a look at The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows.

queen


 

  • Series: Orphan Queen (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (March 10, 2015)

Adventure, intrigue, and romance combine in a new fantasy duology from Incarnate series author Jodi Meadows.

When Princess Wilhelmina was a child, the Indigo Kingdom invaded her homeland. Ten years later, Wil and the other noble children who escaped are ready to fight back and reclaim Wil’s throne. To do so, Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate the Indigo Kingdom palace with hopes of gathering information that will help them succeed.

But Wil has a secret—one that could change everything. Although magic has been illegal for a century, she knows her ability could help her save her kingdom. But magic creates wraith, and the deadly stuff is moving closer and destroying the land. And if the vigilante Black Knife catches her using magic, she may disappear like all the others. . . .

Order here!


 

Our Review:

1. What did you think of the story?

Kristen:  Omg! I loved it. It’s like Game of a Thrones meets The Selection. I couldn’t put it down. Whenever I had free time I was reading (Which is hard during the work week. I think I snuck in a couple of reads in at work. Shhh… don’t tell!)

games

Tawney: I totally agree Kristen! The story is a very unique fantasy. Magic is illegal and the wraith wrecks havoc among the kingdoms. I was immersed in this world so much I couldn’t put the book down. 

2. Who was your favorite character? Did the characters relate to you?
black knife 6
Kristen: I loved Black Knife. I had my suspicion on who he was at first but my guess was right! And I think he was perfect (Loved him Jodi!) I can relate to Wil. She had to wear two masks and be two different people at the same time. In a way society is like that. We meet people but are afraid to show our true selves until we get to know them better, trust them (how Wil was with Black Knife). Even at work we will wear a different mask than at home. I know I do. I work in the Justice Field where it’s very professional while at home or with my friends/family I’m a goof!😜

 

Tawney: I think we’re going to have to fight over Black Knife! I was drawn to him because he was so mysterious and always there helping Wilhelmina when she was in a bind. He cared for his people and wanted to help out by tracking down those using illegal magic. I loved the character. Wil was head strong and willing to scarifies herself for her people. She truly is a Queen in her own right. 

 

3. How did you like the wraith?

Kristen: The wraith was a twist! I didn’t see the transformation coming. I’m excited to see how the character will grow and interact with Wil in the sequel.  I’m trying not to give too much away in these questions, which is hard! Haha

Tawney: It was such a unique concept! Basically the wraith is a toxic by product of magic. I didn’t expect the ending and the turn of events. 

spoilers

No spoilers here! But I honestly need to read the next book to see what happens. 

 

4. The book ended in a cliffhanger, how do you like that?

Kristen: How do I feel about the cliffhanger?! …. It’s like how I feel about Grey’s Anatomy killing of McDreamy, no likey! (Can we get an advance copy of the sequel? I don’t even care if it hasn’t been edited and is still freshly written (raw), I WILL READ IT! (Hint.wink.wink)

 

Tawney: I honestly don’t like them. Not because cliffhangers are bad. It’s just the torturous wait we have to endure until the next book. 
waiting
It was a wonderful cliffhanger ending that made me throw my hands up and cry. I became so invested in these characters that the thought of waiting another year to see what happened to them is agony.

 

5.Would you recommend it?

Kristen: Yes!!! It’s a great adventure and a very suspenseful read. It’s a great book to help you escape reality and immerse yourself in the characters and scenery! Get your copy of The Orphan Queen today! 

 

Tawney: Yes, it’s a wonderful fantasy with spectacular world building. The characters are well developed and the description so vivid I felt immersed in the book. It’s a book you can’t put down until the end!

starstarstarstar


About Jodi:

Jodi picture

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen). Visit her at http://www.jodimeadows.com

Follow Jodi on twitter, Facebook, and/or her blog!

 

Until next time!
black knife
Love The Twins
One thought on “Book Friday: The Orphan Queen

Leave a Reply

