Review: Hidden Deep by Amy Patrick

I love the Hobbit and Lord of The Rings. I’m hot for the elves!

elf

So I was greatly surprised when I picked up Hidden Deep and found a story with an intriguing plot and hot elves! Not the tiny elves but tall, gorgeous elves. But it wasn’t just that which helped immerse me into Amy’s world, her writing and characters held my attention until I finished the book.

Let’s take a look at Hidden Deep by Amy Patrick!


  • Print Length: 257 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Oxford South Press; 1 edition (March 23, 2015)

Sixteen-year-old Ryann Carroll has just run into the guy who saved her life ten years ago. You might think she’d be happy to see him again. Not exactly. She’s a bit underdressed (as in skinny-dipping) and he’s not supposed to exist.

After her father’s affair, all Ryann wants is to escape the family implosion fallout and find a little peace. She also wouldn’t mind a first date that didn’t suck, but she’s determined not to end up like her mom: vulnerable, betrayed, destroyed. Ryann’s just moved into her grandma’s house in rural Mississippi, the same place where ten years earlier she became lost in the woods overnight and nearly died.

She’s still irresistibly drawn to those woods. There she encounters the boy who kept her from freezing to death that long ago winter night and was nowhere to be seen when rescuers arrived. He’s still mysterious, but now all grown-up and gorgeous, too. And the more she’s with him, the greater the threat he poses to Ryann’s strict policy– never want someone more than he wants you.

Seventeen-year-old Lad knows the law of his people all too well: Don’t get careless and Don’t get caught.
It’s allowed his race to live undetected in this world for thousands of years, mentioned only in flawed and fading folklore. Lad’s never been able to forget about Ryann since that night ten years ago. When he sees her again, his fascination re-ignites and becomes a growing desire that tempts him to break all the rules. He’s not even supposed to talk to a human, much less fall in love with one.

And the timing is atrocious. The Assemblage is coming, the rift between the Light and Dark is widening. Lad may have to trade his own chance at happiness to keep the humans, especially Ryann, blissfully ignorant and safe.


My Review:  I was really surprised at this book! It sounded intriguing which is why I wanted to read it. The characters and the flow of the story immersed me more into a supernatural world I fell in love with.

Ryann comes back to live with her grandmother’s house only to run into the boy, named Lad, who saved her 10 years ago. Since her family thought she was crazy the first time she met Lad, she keeps him a secret and continues to meet him in the woods. They grow close only at the same time the hottest boy in school, Nat, has become interested in Ryann. He’s tall, dark and handsome with confidence and a bit of arrogance. Love blossoms between Lad and Ryann but the secrets are eating at Ryann. She doesn’t want secrets anymore so Lad reveals his and the story takes you beyond human imagination.

Ryann was a sweet and innocent character who did have a mind of her own. Lad is free spirited and definitely not human. He tends to break his people’s rules when around Ryann. The chemistry between her and Lad was instant. They had instant chemistry and Amy did a wonderful job developing that throughout the book. I hate love triangles so when Nat enters I was a little disappointed,

what

but Nat comes off strong and a bit strange. However, Amy made it known that Ryann has only eyes for Lad.  So I didn’t mind this love triangle because there really wasn’t one.

Amy does a wonderful job describing the world she created with vivid detail. It was a refreshing read. I loved her take on the elves and Lad’s world. One thing I would have liked to see more was about Grandma Neena and her past. I’m sure that’s in book 2! The story was fun and kept me reading until the end…which blew me away! I had to re-read the first couple of chapters because of that cliffhanger. When a book makes you think about the story and re-read the first pages like Hidden deep did, it’s a good book. I can’t wait for book 2!

Should you read it? Yes! A great supernatural romance with intriguing characters and a world full of mystery. Teens will love Ryann and Lad!

starstarstarstar

Order the book!

*I received a free ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*


About the Author:

 I’ve read the Lord of the Rings trilogy 17 times.I hate shopping.

I anchored the news for 12 years at various TV stations in 4 different states.

I was a bullied nerd in middle school. (see #1)

I’ve sung lead in several bands and sang backup on a studio album recorded in LA (smooth jazz). I sang the commercial theme song for an airline (in Scandinavia).

I’ve painted every room in my house at least twice.

I’ve seen Bladerunner and When Harry Met Sally more times than I can count.

I love Marvel movies, Outlander, Game of Thrones, Vampire Diaries, Hershey’s dark chocolate kisses (freezer, top shelf), kettle chips (too much), Coke Zero, Chardonnay, yoga pants and Danskos (not together), heat and humidity (yes, together), reading smart romance books, makeup, lunch (and birthday dinners) with my girlfriends, and my amazing family.

Follow Amy on twitter, Facebook, and/or her blog.


Until the next review!

bye

Love Tawney Twin

Leave a Reply

