Racing Hearts Blog Tour Stop and Giveaway

Today we’re excited to be the next stop on Laura Lascarso‘s Racing Heart Blog Stop!

Excited-Amy-Adams-In-Cute-Dress-Reaction-Gif

We were fortunate to be able to interview Laura about Racing Hearts and review the book. Let’s get started!

1.Where did you get the idea for Racing Hearts, a Romeo and Juliet with race cars? Sounds fantastic!

romeo

Laura: I wanted to write a story from the male perspective where cars played a central theme. When I began researching NASCAR, I found a history ripe with characters and stories that compelled me to intertwine a legacy of racing. To spice up the story, I envisioned a romance where the Copelands and the Bradleys mirror the Capulets and Montagues. In other words, a forbidden romance and a feud as old as Ford vs. Chevy.

2. What was your favorite scene to write in Racing Hearts?

 Laura: I think one of my favorite scenes is when Brooke is trying to convince Jesse to make her car race ready, even though it’s against her father’s wishes. She uses every trick in the book to persuade Jesse, and even though he knows he’s getting played, he goes along with it. It’s a very playful scene with quite a bit of romantic tension as well.

3. Tell us your writing habits! Do you have certain place you need to write? Do you use notes? Do you stretch before writing? I do! LOL

typing

 Laura: Stretching is a great idea, especially since I tend to fold up like a pretzel. I usually write in the wee hours, 10pm-2am, or if it’s earlier in the evening, I’ll go to a coffee shop and set up next to my friend Heather, who edits for a living. But in a pinch, I will write anywhere at any time. And my best ideas come to me in the shower and on long car rides.

3. Tell us something crazy about yourself!

machu picchu gif

 Laura: Truthfully, I’m not very crazy. But I once took a spontaneous trip to Peru with a girl I’d only just met. Together we backpacked Machu Picchu, which was one of the most physically and emotionally challenging hikes I’ve ever done—high highs and low lows. Experiences like that can really show you what you’re capable of when you push yourself.

5. What advice can you give for newbie writers?

 Laura: Find a critique group. My writing improved vastly when I found a group of writers who I trusted with my work. It’s very much a give and take where we all bring different strengths and experiences to the table. There are some areas where I shine as a writer and others where I need help. My critique partners make me better, and they’re very supportive when there are bumps in the road.

Thank you so much for letting us interview you Laura!

Let’s take a look at Racing Hearts!

 

racing hearts


Start your engines…

Eighteen year-old Jesse Copeland learns of a local car race sponsored by his father’s nemesis, Shep Bradley, and the prize money might be enough to keep his family from losing their home – if he can win.

Brooke, Shep’s daughter, is also aiming to compete, with or without her father’s approval. She’ll do whatever it takes to persuade Jesse to make her car race ready. Both are driven, both are risk-takers, and soon it’s more than engines getting fired up. Jesse tells himself their relationship is strictly business, until it isn’t.

Can two star-crossed lovers overcome a family feud as old as Ford vs. Chevy, or will the competition become too explosive for these racing hearts?

Add the book to Goodreads

Read deleted scene on WattPad


My Review:  It was such a fast easy read that I couldn’t put the book down. Jesse and Brooke were wonderfully written. I loved the whole Romeo and Juliet type vibe throughout the book. And the race cars? Intense ride!

racing

Brooke needs Jesse to help her build a race car. When Jesse finally agrees the sparks fly! The two have  great chemistry and smoldering scenes. The writing flows and the descriptions makes me feel like I’m right there in the raceway. The only thing I urned for was more! I wanted more scenes with Jesse and Brooke or the raceway. But overall it was a fun ride.

Should you read it? Yes, a unique Romeo and Juliet retelling that has your heart pumping.

starstarstar 1/2


lauraAbout the Author:

Laura Lascarso strives to craft stories that are honest and real with characters who must overcome great odds. Her debut novel Counting Backwards (Atheneum 2012) won the Florida Book Award gold medal for YA literature. RACING HEARTS is Laura’s first e-series with Leap Books. She lives in North Florida with her darling husband, two children and a menagerie of animals.

Watch for Laura’s series with Shine which follows a pair of star-crossed lovers. He wants to honor his father’s legacy; she wants to prove her father wrong in this modern-day Romeo & Juliet set in the world of competitive car racing. (ETA. Fall 2015)

Visit Laura on TwitterFacebook, and her website.


 

Tour Schedule:

Feb 2: Guest Post http://www.starshadowblog.com

Feb 3: Guest Post/ Review http://tana-someofmyfavoritebooks.blogspot.com/

Feb 3: Guest Post http://reesesreviews.blogspot.com

Feb 4: Guest Post http://judithteweswrites.blogspot.ca/

Feb 5: Interview/Review https://twinningforbooks.wordpress.com/

Feb 6: Review/ Guest Post http://feedyourfictionaddiction.com/

Feb 7: Review http://michellesminions.blogspot.com/

Feb 8: Review https://afterthelastpage.wordpress.com/

Feb 9: Acrostic Poem http://nataliezaman.blogspot.com/

Release Date: Feb 10, 2015

AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER NOW at:

AmazonBarnes & Noble, and Kobo.

 

 

To the giveaway!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

tumblr_inline_mq85z2ZxYg1qz4rgp

Love The Twins

5 thoughts on “Racing Hearts Blog Tour Stop and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

