Book Friday: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

I love adventure books!

adventure

Adventure books full of mysteries and clues to solve them. Treasure hunts and espionage. That’s exactly what I found in Maggie’s thriller The Conspiracy of Us. I couldn’t put the book down. I ate with it, I walked with it. The book went to bed with me until I finished it.

read

I’ve been very excited for this book and it didn’t disappoint! What a thrilling intense adventure that’s Amazing Race meets James Rollins for YA.

Let’s take a look at Maggie Hall’s The Conspiracy of Us!

conspiracy


  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Putnam Juvenile (January 13, 2015)

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with. 


My review: It’s not often you find a young adult book that has action, adventure, treasure hunting with a slash of romance. I love international thriller books like this. I usually read such books in the adult fiction sections, like James Rollins, Dan Brown or Andy Mcdermott. I love these type of books because they have intense plot twists and great characters. Their the-edge-of-your-seat reads you can’t put down. That’s exactly what The Conspiracy of Us did. This YA suspense/thriller had me at the first turn of the page.

Avery West has moved so many times it’s not beneficial to make friends. Her Mom’s job takes them all across the country. They have no family but each other. Avery tries to keep to herself not to mention she knows nothing about her father, who she wonders about all the time. Her Mom never talks about him. But when mysterious gorgeous british accent Jack Bishop and the hot Russian bad boy Stellan approach her at prom, things begin to get strange. She’s immediately taken to Paris to discover a long lost family.

Apparently this long lost family is looking for her and this family is importantly powerful because they basically rule the world. They are known as the Circle of 12. This elite secret society has made world decisions, wars, and has some of the most powerful, influential leaders as members.  The Circle believes that Avery is some key to unlocking an ancient prophecy. Some want her for the answers they seek while others want her dead. Among all of this her father might be alive. Stellan and Jack are Keepers of this society charged with making sure Avery stays safe. Avery is taken around the world on a quest to find answers all the while being persuade by the Order, a society who wants to make sure that the Circle is destroyed.

I loved this book. Secret societies? Quests? Count me in. It was an action action packed book that had mysteries at every turn of the page. We’re taken around the world from Paris to Istanbul. I felt for Avery and the secrets that were kept from her. She demanded answers even when the bullets were flying. I loved how Avery kept her cool but also showed emotion when needed. She was a realistic character that one could relate to. Both Jack and Stellan had their quirks. Jack was the intelligent down to earth guy while Stellan was the hot take action guy. The sexual tension between the boys and Avery was priceless! But the book wasn’t about the romance but more the thrill of the quest.

Maggie did a wonderful job with weaving the mysteries throughout the book and all the while kept us in the dark from the truths. Her descriptions were so vivid they took my breath away. I felt like I was in the Prada store in Paris with Avery looking at dresses or on the streets of Istanbul eating gyros. Her words flowed smoothly and I felt every emotion on this fast pace adventure. The rich culture that surrounds the setting from the glittering balls in Paris to the clubs in Istanbul was intriguing and it felt like I took every step with Avery.

This was a fantastic debut from Maggie. Readers will enjoy the twisting plot and adventurous action that they won’t be able to put the book down! This was a thrill ride that at every turn of the page I sat at the edge of me seat waiting to see what happened next.

Should you read it? Yes! Action packed with adventure, romance and secret societies, every reader will find this book thrilling. This first book to a trilogy promises more adventure and action in the next two. I will definitely be reading the next books and anything else that Maggie writes.

starstarstarstarstar

 

Get your book today! AmazonBN.


 

About the Author:
MaggieHallHeadshotZoomedOut

Hello! I’m Maggie Hall. I’m a YA writer.

My debut novel THE CONSPIRACY OF US, which features scheming and code-breaking, Paris and Istanbul, and forbidden love and fate, is coming from Putnam/Penguin January 13, 2015. It’s the first in a trilogy.
I’ve just come back to Albuquerque, NM after a year of traveling around the world with my husband.

<— (My author photo right here was taken on a beach in Morocco.)

When I’m home, you can usually find me DIY-ing something off Pinterest, or learning to cook new, delicious things, or watching USC football. (Fight on!)

Follow Maggie on twitterInstagramtumblr and/or her blog.


Until next time!
bye
Love Tawney Twin
Leave a Reply

