Monday Funday with author Christina Farley.

It’s Monday and today we’re going to be having some fun with author Christina Farley!

excited_kurt

I had recently moved to Florida and discovered authors live here too! One of them being Christina Farley! I went to her launch party for Silvern that was so much fun! I also had a nice lunch with her and some other authors. She’s completely nice and lovely! Not to mention talented! I love her Gilded series, full of Korean mythology and highly recommend it.

TigerWhite

It’s Monday Funday, where we ask authors fun questions! Christina has kindly taken the time to answer 5 fun questions to lighten up this work week.

Let’s get to know Christina first!


ABOUT CHRISTINA: It all began when I was nine, curled under my covers, listening to my father read Lord of the Ringschristina f by J.R.R Tolkien. That’s where the beauty and power of storytelling came to life for me. I was so inspired that I started a writing group in 4th grade. All my friends came over and we’d write stories and share them. When I was ten, I submitted my first short story to a magazine. It was rejected. I thought I was a terrible writer. I put writing aside and decided to become a teacher.

It was after teaching and traveling internationally for ten years that I decided to tackle my bucket list. ‘Write a book’ happened to be on it. I wrote that book. It was awful, just as I suspected it’d be. But a very strange thing happened. I realized I liked writing. Finally I’d found that outlet to share all the crazy, wild stories floating in my head.

I was hooked. I wrote and wrote. Finally, I snagged a fabulous agent, Jeff Ourvan. He submited GILDED to publishers and found a home for it with my wonderful editor, Miriam Juskowicz at Skyscape/Amazon Children’s.

Besides writing, I love traveling, running, playing light sabers with my two Jedi warriors, and eating dark chocolate. I’m slightly obsessed with books, especially YA’s. My next challenge to conquer on my bucket list is to visit all the continents, but I’ve heard Antarctica is quite cold. And that just might be my greatest challenge.

Follow Christina on twitter, Facebook, and/or her blog.


Now the games begin!

1. Your Gilded series deals with Korean Mythology, what would happen if the Greek Gods met the Korean Gods? A huge battle? Or maybe they would sit and have tea?

greek

Christina: Interesting question! It would totally depend on which gods were meeting up.

Dionysus and Kud would opt for a wine party over tea (Kud loves snake wine, a delicacy in North Korea). Kud also has a lot in common with Cronos, with them both being obsessed for power. They’d probably get into a huge battle with Cronos using his golden scythe and Kud welding his snake scepter and the Red Phoenix orb.

Palk and Hera would get along on the other hand because they are both peaceful.

If Samshin and Antheia teamed up, I’d bet they’d create a legendary garden or a new plant species. And I could totally see them having a tea party. Just make sure you’re on their good side before you drink anything.

Princess Bari’s story reminds me a lot of Charon, the ferryman for the River Styx. But if you ask me, she could totally crush Charon with one jab of her spear. Readers will see a lot more of Bari in BRAZEN.

And then there are the gods of the Underworld—Hades and King Daebyeol. Both of these gods are temperamental and cranky. It would really depend on what kind of mood they were in at that particular moment.

I could totally see all this happening with both Greek and Korean Gods!

2. A tornado is coming, quick what would you grab before you make your escape?

tornado

Christina: As a Florida resident, I’m supposed to have a tornado/hurricane kit prepped, but I don’t. So I guess I’d grab each of my kids’ under my arms and run.

That sounds like a plan! I think I would grab my computer for our pictures, oh and my husband. LOL.

3. If you had to choose, Legolas or Aragorn? (I love elves but Aragorn always was my favorite beside bilbo)

arg

Christina: I’m going to go with Aragon. He’s tough, passionate, wise, kind, and sexy!

I wholeheartedly agree!!!!

4. With the new Star Wars movie coming out, would you choose the force or the dark side?

force

Christina: Always the force because the good side always wins. 🙂 May the Force Be With You!

Yes, go good side!

5. What are you working on right now? 

Christina: Lots of secret projects right now! I wrote a YA and a MG this past fall, and I’m finishing up a proposal to send to my editor this month. I can’t tell you what they are about except there are fantasy elements in all of my new projects.

Sounds like you are on a roll! Thank you for joining us today. It’s always a pleasure.

Add the Gilded series to Goodreads, Order the book!

gilded     silvern

 


 

Until next time!

bye

Love Tawney Twin

4 thoughts on “Monday Funday with author Christina Farley.

Leave a Reply

