Book Friday: Ignite by Sara B Larson

I’m so excited to have read this book. I’ve been waiting with anticipation to read the sequel to Defy…

elf

Fangirl moment.

I wasn’t disappointed. Defy left me with wanting more and Sara doesn’t disappoint with Ignite!

ignite


  • Series: Defy

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press (December 30, 2014)

 In the kingdom of Antion, peace has at long last been restored. Now that King Hector’s reign of terror is over, the newly crowned King Damian, along with his most trusted guard, Alexa, must focus on rebuilding Antion and reclaiming the hope of their people. But the wounds of the past are no as easily mended as Alexa and Damian had hoped. And to further complicate matters, Alexa still harbors a secret love for Damian, a love she refuses to acknowledge for the sake of Antion, and for the sake of the king himself.

When new threats to the kingdom surface–including an assassination attempt on Damian–blame is cast on the once-friendly nation of Blevon. Alexa knows things are not what they seem, however, and once again the fate of her country hangs in the balance. Will Alexa be able to protect her king and find the true enemy before it’s too late?

Filled with romance and treachery, magic and violence, this stunning sequel to Defy whisks readers off on another thrilling adventure.


 

My review:  I received a copy for an honest review. I have been waiting anxiously to read this books since Defy left it me heartbroken. I immediately tore through this book and I wasn’t disappointed. Sara did a wonderful job at recapping what happened in the last book with the first chapter.

The kingdom of Antion is at peace and Alexa stands guard by King Damian’s side daily. However, this is torture for her because she lied to him about her true feelings. She truly loves him but Damian believes otherwise…and it’s so sad! Alexa doesn’t believe she could be the right queen for him and thinks it’s the best interest to pull away from him. Alexa will sacrifices her happiness for the good of the kingdom.This aggravated me to no end…which is a good thing. I kept on reading to see the outcome. The interactions between Damian and Alexa was wonderfully written. The beginning of the book has that tortuous, snapping dialogue between the two.They can’t even look at each other.

cry-crying-crying-gif-crying-gif-tumblr-crying+gif-TVD-the-vampire-diaries-damon-elena-delena-elena-gilbert-damon-salvatore-Dex

Delegates from the kingdom of Dansii arrive with the beautiful alluring Vera. Jelousy automatically hits Alexa when the king shows interest in her. Her battles scars from the last fight leave her self-conscious about her appearance. People point and whisper about the scars. What I love about Alexa is that she keeps her head up and emotions interlocked inside. She is still a great fighter and wants to protect her kingdom. She becomes suspicious about Vera immediately and rightfully so! Vera’s food tester is poisoned and the body disappears along with Damian’s little brother. Also, the kingdom of Blevon sends soldiers to speak with the king and then they attack him! Something is wrong with their eyes, soulless blank eyes, but they are all killed before answers could be heard. News of outside villages being attacked by a black sorcerer brings more questions then answers.

The action was intense and I couldn’t turn the page fast enough. Sara’s writing flows on the page and the description immerses me into Alexa’s world so well I couldn’t put the book down. Her character development is wonderful with the dialogue between Damian and Alexa. The other characters such as Rylan, Eljin and Tanoori had a strong presence and made me yearn for more of them. Which I’m sure we’ll see them in the third book.

I can’t wait for the third book because Sara loves to leave us hanging! Good and bad things need to be resolved in the next book and war is bruin.

Should you read it? Yes! Sara brings us back into the world of Alexa and her fight to save her king. The book is wonderfully written and the description perfectly visual. Once you pick this book up you won’t want to put it down.

                          

                                                  starstarstarstar


About the Author:

 sarah
I love writing, reading, and dessert–but the order varies by the day. I wrote my first book in second grade about a woman who had a premature baby, complete with a “to scale” drawing of the baby’s size–while my mom was pregnant. To say I was a bit precocious is putting it lightly. Now that I’m an adult, I write books for teens that have magic and romance and kick-butt girls (and very few premature babies). I live in Utah with my husband, two young sons and baby girl. I write during naptime and the hours when most people are sleeping. My  husband claims I should have a degree in “the art of multitasking.” On occasion you will find me hiding in a bubble bath with a book and some Swedish Fish. I am represented by Josh Adams of Adams Literary.

Follow Sara on Twitter, Facebook, and/or her blog


bye

Love

Tawney Twin

Leave a Reply

