My Writing Process Blog Tour

My wonderful CP Krystal Marquet tagged me in the My Writing Process blog tour. Check our her post here! Thanks Krystal because this was fun!

If you haven’t heard of #MyWritingProcess, it’s like a chain letter in which authors all answer the same four questions about their writing. A very fun creative way of learning everyone’s writing process! 

Here we go!

tumblr_m2vzmkimuZ1qfkfpao1_500

1) What am I working on?

Gosh. I’m working on tons of projects right now. I’m still trying to finish my YA dystopian, it’s like taking forever! This project is about a family living in a world of heat and viruses. The second project is a YA contemporary about a girl with multiple personalities that help her solve the disappearance of her friends 9 years ago. I keep going back and forth between the two but I need to stop and just finish my dystopian.

 

2) How does my work differ from other genres?

Hmmm this is a good question! I think my work differs from others because I write about what I know..wait! Not that I have multiple personalities! I mean being a twin and having family from Alaska. I like to draw on that and my Eskimo heritage. I love how YA has so many genres and there are so many great authors!

 

3) Why do I write what I do?

I love to read! I devour books. From there I got a strong sense of wanting to create my own worlds and characters. I love reading all genres but YA just keeps me intrigued. I love the teen awkward stage and you can put that in space or dystopian or fantasy! Books are my escape and I want to be able to give an escape to readers too!

 

4) How does my writing process work?

I try to write everyday. But sometimes that can’t happen with a full-time job. So any available down time I have I try to write. When I do get to write I try to do more than 1000 words. I will either meet up with my critique group or sprint on twitter to push myself to write. I love to get away and sit at my local coffee shop or bookstore and just get the laptop out to write. At home I have so many distractions that getting out for a bit really helps. If I can’t get out I just sit in front of the TV and write. Sometimes music really helps. It gives me the inspiration to right like Imagine Dragons or right now I love Wild Feathers.

I don’t really have a way I plot my stories. They just come to me. I’ll write down a small synopsis and go from there. I just write. I never use an outline because it’s like my characters are speaking to me and telling me what direction to go. Ok…maybe I do have multiple personalities!

 

That’s my writing process! I hope you enjoyed it. For next week I’ve tagged my CP Riki Cleveland. Here’s a little bit about her!

Miss Riki lives in Arizona where she is busy writing Young Adult novels. She authors the blog Refreshingly Riki where no subject is off-limits and no book goes unloved. She spends her free time playing the flute with the Ahwatukee Foothills Concert Band, screaming at the umpire in a televised baseball game, and reading endless stacks of books and magazines. She has a degree in English Literature from Arizona State University, is the first-place recipient of the Arizona Authors Association Literary Contest and has been published on the virtual pages of MySportsArena.com and the actual print pages of the State Press.

Miss Riki is a regular columnist and news contributor for LitReactor and is the official Book Muse reviewer atPen & Muse Press.

Miss Riki is currently working as an Intern for author Rebekah Crane with In This Together Media as well as forEntangled Publishing.

One thought on “My Writing Process Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

