Interview/Giveaway with Author Jamie Grey of UltraViolet Catastrophe

onlycover_web

Today I have the pleasure of having author Jamie Grey on the blog with a wonderful interview for her book UltraViolet Catastrophe. Not only is the cover so pretty but the book is awesome with action and well you have to read it! It;s my pleasure to welcome Jamie Grey to Twinning for twins blog!

 Tawney:  What made you decide to self-publish?

Jamie Grey: It was really a combination of things that led up to the decision to self-publish. I saw so many wonderful books never making it past the agent stage, and even when they did, many of them didn’t sell to a publisher. I was so sad that readers would never get the chance to read so many amazing books. I was also becoming concerned about some of the publishing contract terms I was hearing about. I didn’t want the same thing to happen to my book, so instead of going the traditional route, I decided to self publish.

Tawney: Yes, I am having concerns too. There are so many great self-published authors books that I have read. I loved them! I am so glad that you decided to go this rout because this book was amazing!

Tawney: I bet it was a difficult decision. How has this whole process opened your eyes to the publishing world?

Jamie Grey: I think it’s really shown me that there’s no one path for success any more. It just depends on what you want and what you consider success. It’s also made me very careful about the contracts I sign. Always do your research.

Tawney: What made you want to become a writer?

Jamie Grey:  Wow. I have no idea, I just know I’ve wanted to be one since I could write! I made little books for my parents as a kid, and just kept writing from there. I think it’s amazing to be able to create a new world that people enjoy reading about.

Tawney: I love creating things! it just amazes me all the talent out there.

Tawney: Who is your favorite character in Ultraviolet Catastrophe? Common, I know you have one.

Jaime: Oh man. You’re really going to make me choose, huh? I guess I’d have to say Asher. He’s smart, funny, and totally the type of guy I would have been in to at that age. (heck, if he was 10 years old, I’d *still* be into him!)

Tawney: Yes! I love that name too. Asher….that is a good name for my future kid!

Tawney: I must ask this question because every writer has to think about it! If your book was made into a movie, what actors/actresses would you love to play the characters?

Jaime: You know, to be honest, I have not thought about that question! I have images in my head about what my characters look like, but not really down to a specific actor.

I guess if I have to choose:

Lexie – Georgie Henle  Ultra


Zella – Amanda Stenberg – ultra2 \

Asher – He’s super hard for me b/c I have a very clear picture of him, but I think Dylan Sprayberry is close. ultra3

Max – (This is such a coincidence) But I think Max Irons works as Maxultra4

Tawney: These actors are great!!!!! They all work. 🙂

Tawney:  Besides writing, what else do you like to do? Such as hobbies.

Jamie:  Ha! I wish I had more hobbies. I spend so much time writing I don’t have many. I do love playing video games, reading, and traveling (though I don’t get to do it as much as I’d like)

Tawney:  Tell us something we would never guess about yourself.

Jaime:  I used to own a side business as a Henna (Mehendi) Artist and did henna for weddings, parties, and festivals. I loved it!

Tawney: That is awesome! What a great job.

Tawney:  How do you make time to write while everyday tasks get in the way, such as work, school….

Jamie:  It’s tough. Luckily I’m able to write on my lunch breaks at work so that helps. But when life gets crazy, I just have to force myself to make time. Either get up earlier, stay up later, or prioritize. Writing is important to me so I treat it that way.

Tawney:  Did you help with the cover of UltraViolet Catastrophe? Was it everything you imagined it would be?

Jamie:  My cover designer and I went back and forth for 2 weeks with concepts and ideas and different strategies. I had no idea what I wanted going in, but Natalia quickly figured out what would work and she came up with an AMAZING design. It’s so gorgeous, I love it!

Tawney:  Natalia is so talented. The cover turned out perfect! I know LeighAnn and Trisha use her too and their covers are gorgeous too. The violet in your cover just draws the eyes attention.

Tawney:  Truthfully, are you excited to have your book out in the big old world? It must be exciting and your family must be proud!!

Jamie:  I am SO excited to have it out. It’s pretty much everything I’ve been working toward since I was old enough to want to be a writer! My significant other is SO proud of me and excited I finally took the leap. I actually haven’t told the rest of my family yet! I’m such a chicken. Guess the cat’s out of the bag now!

Tawney:  What other writing projects are you working on now?

Jamie:  I’m just finishing a New Adult Space Opera. I think I may love this book even more than Ultraviolet Catastrophe! It’s called The Star Thief, and it’s the first in a planned trilogy. Here’s a short blurb.

 Renna is the most wanted thief in the galaxy, but when she’s blackmailed into protecting humanity from a galactic attack, she may be forced to walk the straight and narrow. Especially if the handsome but arrogant Captain Finn has his way. Problem is, she wouldn’t mind him having his way with her.

Tawney:  I so can’t wait for this one! I love Space Opera! Smexy!!

Tawney:  Last but not least, who are your favorite authors and how do you connect with them? Is there a book that stands out from all the rest that you cherish and love for all time? Mine is Pride and Prejudice, cliche yes but I love it.

Jamie:  This is so hard! There are so many books that have touched me and that I re-read on a regular basis. I’m a huge fan of Jane Austen myself, both Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion are my comfort reads. I also loved all of the Anne of Green Gables books and Little Women. For more contemporary novels, I think I’d have to say The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper, or Harry Potter. There’s just something about being able to lose yourself in a magical world and become someone else for a while!

Thanks so much for having me, Tawney! These were great questions!

Thank you for stopping by Jamie!!!!!

Here is some information of Ultraviolet Catastrophe and a book blurb.

Book Name: Ultraviolet Catastrophe (UVC)

Book Genre: YA Sci-fi

Book release date: September 2013

Ultraviolet Catastrophe on Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18041050-ultraviolet-catastrophe

Links Where to buy:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

Kobo

 

Ultraviolet Catastrophe book blurb: Quantum Electrodynamics. String Theory. Schrödinger’s cat. For sixteen-year-old Lexie Kepler, they’re just confusing terms in her science textbooks, until she finds out that her parents have been drugging her to suppress her outrageous IQ. Now Branston Academy, a school run by the world’s most powerful scientists, has tracked her down and is dying for her to attend – as a research subject.

She takes refuge at Quantum Technologies, a secret scientific community where her father works as a top-notch scientist, and begins her new life as “girl genius” at Quantum High. But the assignments at her new school make the Manhattan Project look like preschool – and Lexie barely survived freshman algebra.

Her first big assignment – creating an Einstein-Rosen bridge – is also her first chance to prove she can hold her own with the rest of QT’s prodigies. But while working with the infuriatingly hot Asher Rosen, QT’s teen wonder, Lexie uncovers a mistake in their master equation. Instead of a wormhole, the machine they’re building would produce deadly ultraviolet rays that could destroy the world.

When the lead scientist on their project turns up as a popsicle in the cryo chamber, Lexie learns that the “mistake” in the equation is actually a carefully crafted plan to sabotage Quantum Technologies. And all signs point to Branston Academy being the culprit. Now Lexie and Asher have to use their combined brainpower to stop Branston from stealing the plans and selling the doomsday device to the highest bidder, before everyone at QT is caught in the ultraviolet catastrophe.

About the author Jamie Grey:  4687517

Jamie Grey spent most of her childhood writing stories about princesses who saved the day and pretending to be a daring explorer. It wasn’t until much later that she realized she should combine the two. Now, as a tech-obsessed gamer geek, her novels mix amazing scientific developments, future worlds, and the remarkable characters that live in them.
Jamie lives in Michigan with her significant other and their pets, who luckily tolerate her overspending on tea, books, and video games. You can learn more about her at www.jamiegreybooks.com, or follow her on twitter via @jamie_grey.

Jamie on <a href=”http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4687517.Jamie_Grey“>Goodreads

Jamie on <a href=”https://twitter.com/Jamie_Grey“>Twitter

Jamie on <a href=” http://www.facebook.com/jamiegreybooks“>Facebook

And for the giveaway!

 Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Interview/Giveaway with Author Jamie Grey of UltraViolet Catastrophe

Leave a Reply

