Kinetic Blog tour”Interview with S.K. Anthony

Kinetic by SK Anthony - cover

It is my pleasure to have interviewed S.K. Anthony for her book Kinetic, which comes out today. It is a wonderful fast read! i could not put it down! I am excited to be part of her blog tour so with further ado, S.K. Anthony!

1. Thank you so much for letting me interview you! Have you always wanted to be a writer or did you want to be something else?

Oh, man … I wanted to be a singer, an actress, a princess and a millionaire. We can’t have it all though, so I’m sticking to writing 😛

So many choices! I wanted to be a mermaid and defiantly couldn’t be that!

2. What is the time frame it takes for you to write a book?

Well, I’ve only written one full book. From the moment I took it seriously to the first draft (a sucky draft I might add), it took me about 2 months. If we count all the way to finishing revisions, it took me 11 months. Now that I understand the process and myself as a writer better, I’m hoping it doesn’t take me as long.

3. How do you come up with themes for your stories?

They come to me? o_0

lol I’m not an outliner nor do I sit and wonder what I can write about. I get these ideas popping in my head while doing normal everyday things, and go from there. Sometimes just one personality trait in a character will give me a whole world to build, so I’m as random as can be.

I do that too! I never outline, just write from ideas stored in my mind. 🙂

4. Do you have a schedule of when you write?

– Yes. At night when everyone else is sleeping…ALL night.

5. When writing how do you balance family life?

– I balance it by not sleeping lol. I’m there for my kids, house and husband, but the nights belong to my writing. As an insomniac, it really isn’t an issue though. I’m used to the lack of sleep, and now I can enjoy that I have something productive to do 😉

I wish I could do that. I need sleep or I am cranky. lol

6. How many books have you written so far? Do you have a favorite?

– One full book, two unfinished. Sure, my favorite is the completed one because I don’t have to stress over it anymore. Well, maybe the reviews induce some stressing, but the story is done 😉

7. Who is your favorite character?

– Hmm, tough one. I loved writing Annie a lot. I like that she is a kickass chick with a soft side.

I love Annie too! Kickass chicks are my favorite because they are not the weak typical characters.

8. I have to ask just because it is fun, what actors do you see as your characters?

– Oh my goodness, let me tell you, I had so much fun looking at actors. A while back—during my last set of revisions—I hit a huge wall block, and after taking a break to look for the Hollywood versions of my characters, it all came to me. This was good therapy, so I’m happy to share some of them. The rest of the cast will be featured on my blog. Sorry!

Annie Kinetic - Annie Fox

Derrek Kinetic - Derek Lake

Lisa Kinetic - Lisa Kinkaid Kevin Kinetic - Kevin

Nick Kinetic - Nick Logan

9. When deciding on how to publish, what directed you to the route you took?

I chose to self publish simply because I love having the control. Originally, I was afraid to write my books because I didn’t want to deal with the query stress, the “change this or else” aspect of it, or the rejections. But once I was researching it (yes, I still intended to pursue it), I found out about self-publishing and loved the idea, so I went for it.Good for you! I am still uncertain what I wish to do but self-publishing authors are just rock stars for working so hard! You amaze me.

10. What hobbies do you have outside of writing?

Sleeping! Well, when I can. I enjoy reading and daydreaming as well lol.

11. What kinds of advice would you give to someone who wants to start writing?

– Sit back and let the words flow. It might not be perfect to begin with, but keep on going, and if you are truly serious, do NOT give up. Write as much as you can everyday, anything at all, and eventually it will all “click.”

Great advice! I think every writer sometimes has a hard time sitting back and letting the words flow. I am one of them1

12. What is your favorite book? favorite author? Do you have an author that inspired/inspires you to write?

My favorite book is the “whole set” of Harry Potter lol. I could say J.K. Rowling, but really, I’m inspired by all authors. The risk and the guts it takes to come up with a whole new world and then send it out into the universe is amazing.

13. Who are your go to people when writing a book that help with your story lines as well as editing, beta reading and such?

– I have two awesome and amazing authors: Brandon Ax and Debra Ann Miller. They rock my socks off.

14. Are you working on anything new?

Yes. I’m currently working on the second book in The Luminaries series and another contemporary NA spy novel.

I cannot wait for the second book! Hurry up and finish it! Really! LOL.

Now to the goodies! A tour wide giveaway! I highly recommend the is book so this is a good chance to win one signed!

** TOUR-WIDE GIVEAWAY (OPTIONAL) **

Prize(s):

• Two (2) $25 Amazon gift cards {INT}

• Three (3) signed print copies Kinetic + notebook, pen & bookmark {US only}

• One (1) signed print copy of Kinetic + notebook, pen & bookmark {INT only}

• Ten (10) swag packs of notebook, pen & bookmark {INT}

• Three (3) bookmarks + pen {INT}

Enter here to win!!! Rafflecopter

End date: October 5th, 2013 @ 11:59pm EDT

____________________________________________________________________________________

Title: Kinetic

Author: S.K. Anthony

Series: The Luminaries #1

Publication: September 20th, 2013

Category: New Adult (NA)

Genre: Urban Fantasy (UF)

Synopsis:

Being strong is one thing. Being an unlimited source of power is quite another.

Genetically altered by the Organization, Annie Fox takes down criminals CIA-style with her luminary strength. With nothing to mend but her broken heart, she is relentlessly pursued by her boss Derek Lake. Just when Annie is about to give him a chance, her ex-husband unexpectedly comes out of hiding.

A wanted man, Nick Logan is a cold-hearted murderer who is considered enemy number one, and orders are clear: kill on contact. He is more powerful than ever and threatens the lives of those she holds most dear. His plan? Get his hands on Annie and use her Kinetic energy to destroy them all. When Annie finds herself with an opportunity to end him, she pauses, horrified by the scars covering the face she once loved. A split second that will cost her everything …

** Kinetic is a stand-alone novel. All books in series are part of the same world with the characters intertwined. **
Buying Links:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

__________________________________________________________________________________

SKAnthony

Author bio:

S.K. Anthony is a writer, a reader and a make-stuff-up-er who lives in New York with her husband and toddler twins. She is a wine connoisseur, which just really means she knows she loves it, and a caffeine addict. When she isn’t busy with her family she finds herself being transported into the world of imagination. Well, either that or running away from spiders…she is convinced they are out to get her!

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Google+

Pinteres
Goodreads

10 thoughts on “Kinetic Blog tour”Interview with S.K. Anthony

Leave a Reply

